5/22/10 vs. Chicago Cubs

This would turn out to be a very enjoyable day at the ballpark for me. Aside from the fact that my daughter Sarah was not with me (that would have made the day perfect), it was just a great day all around.

My friend Dirk and I headed to the ballpark at around 2-2:30ish in anticipation of a large crowd and we wanted to be close to the front of the line to get in with the other season ticket holders. When we arrived at the gate, which would eventually open at 3:30, there were around 15-20 people in line. Not too bad. When we get in we head straight to left field and most others head to right field.

When we finally got in and made our way to the left field seats this was the scene for the first 30 minutes….

5_22_09 002.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Including myself and Dirk (who is at the far end of these left field seats in the red shirt and tan shorts) there were only five (5) of us! For the first full 30 minutes!

It was amazing, but honestly I don’t know why I didn’t come away with 10 or more balls.

I stayed toward the left field foul pole like I have been doing a lot lately (to no avail), and after about 2-3 minutes Rangers’ rightie Michael Young hit one my way that I was slow to react to and eneded up picking it up off of the ground for ball #1.

Yes, that felt good! I had grown really tired of my current dry spell and was very relieved to have it end.

Not too long after my first snag, Josh Hamilton’s group had come up to hit and Josh was apparently working on his opposite field power, because he hit one about 5 rows deep two sections to my left that hit a seat and bounced into the gap in left field. It actually landed just to the right of where the guy in the red shirt and blue hat is in the previous photo. I headed over there with my retriever (in case you’re new to this blog or you forgot, I can’t use the glove trick anymore according to stadium security) and reeled it up within a minute for ball #2. Which I’m sad to add ties my personal record that I have achieved on two other occasions, here and here.

By this time I was feeling really good, and we still had about 10-15 minutes before the gates opened to everyone else! I was already thinking of at least three balls. I didn’t want to get greedy, I just wanted to break my personal one game record.

By the way, I showed you the view to my left earlier, well here’s the view to my right….

5_22_09 003.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Greatness.

Just before the gates were about to open up to the rest of the fans, a ball was hit my way. It was coming right down the line, and all I had to do was go up one row (I was already on the aisle) and move in about 4 seats. The problem was I got there about a second after the ball did. It hit off the back of a seat and flew back on the field. Man!

My mistake.

Just in case you’re wondering, by this time my last report from Dirk was he had 5 balls. That’s the upside to where he was, he could snag them out of the visitors’ bullpen to his left, as well as the gap in front of him. It also helped that he was able to catch two on the fly (something I have never done).

Anyways, once the gates opened I didn’t spend much more time over by the foul pole. I made my way over to where Dirk was so I could be in a better spot once the stands started to fill up. Which didn’t take long either. Here’s a photo just 10 minutes after the stadium opened to the public….

5_22_09 004.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It only got worse from there. This was my closest competition….

5_22_09 005.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That was directly in front of me. There were five more just like these to my left. That’s okay though, I’m not complaining. Kids deserve to snag balls just as much as I do. It’s just that I saw my chance at breaking my record eventually vanish into thin air.

At this point, I was stuck on two balls, and Dirk had snagged seven (7). I think I will work my way a little closer to him next game. He would’ve had 8, but the guy standing right next to him decided to put his hand inside the pocket of Dirk’s glove just as he was about to make a basket home run catch. I hope it stung. Oh well, that stuff happens.

When batting practice was wrapped up we made our way out to the concourse to get some drinks. We had stopped at Taco Bell on the way to the park, so our food was already taken care of. Gotta love those value menus!

Our seats were in the third level behind home plate, so we decided to head that way to eat and escape the sun. This is what it looked like from up there….

5_22_09 006.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not too bad if I say so myself.

As the first pitch drew near I wanted to try and get a photo of Derek Holland delivering that pitch. My camera is not the best for long distance shots so this is the best I could do….

5_22_09 009.jpg
5_22_09 008.jpg
5_22_09 007.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When we got to our seats we knew there would probably be no chance for us to move down to the lower level like we try to do most games, so we settled in with the intention of staying there the whole game.

After a few innings I started to talk to the gentleman to my left. He was in his mid to late 50s I would say, and he was there with his father who was most likely in his 70s. The son was in town from Philadelphia and had taken his father to this game. With my dad living in Arizona and me wanting so badly to go to a game with him I thought this was pretty cool. I asked the man about Philly, if he’s a Phillies fan, if he goes to a lot games. He told me that Citizens Bank Park either has or had a 63 consecutive game sellout streak. Wow. God bless the Ballpark in Arlington!

At one point the man got up to go to the concession stand and his father leaned over the empty seat, got my attention, and proceded to thank me for keeping his son company. What do you say to that? I simply told him the pleasure was all mine, and he started to tell me about how he grew up in upstate New York, and that all of his boyhood memories were of watching Ruth, then Gehrig, and all of the greats play live. I could’ve listened to him for hours, though it was only around five to ten minutes. Shame on me, but I never got either of their names. I would really like to thank both of them for making my night at the ballpark even much more enjoyable.

What a great evening! But it gets better.

I can’t remember the exact details, but to the best of my recollection in around the second inning, a foul ball was hit to the second level, first base side just past the media boxes behind home plate. Nothing special right? Foul balls are caught by someone every game.

Keep reading.

A few innings later, a foul ball was hit to the exact same spot as the one I just mentioned, and the same guy caught it.

This guy….

Chase.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…. under the big red arrow. That is a zoomed in look of my view of his seat.

When he caught the second foul ball I knew I had to take this picture, and I wanted to mention it in this entry. As time progressed I decided that I wanted to get down there and talk to the guy, so when Dirk and I were ready to move down to the lower level we stopped on the way to find him. Oddly enough as we were about to go in the tunnel toward his section he came out of the nearest bathroom. Perfect. Now I didn’t have to look like an idiot in front him and everyone else, I could just look like an idiot to him!

I started off by asking his name (which is Chase Eriksen) and just some basic questions about how he felt. You know the drill, what did you think, what was your reaction, those vanilla questions. I then told him that I wanted to get some pictures of/with him to potentially use in an article on the mygameballs.com website. After a short explanation of what exactly that site was, we got to the picture taking.

Here’s Chase with his snags….

5_22_09 011.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…. and just because this is my blog, here’s the two of us with his snags….

5_22_09 012.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

He was a real good sport. I know it must have been weird having a complete stranger come up to you and want to take pictures with you, asking your name.

Oh, I forgot to mention that he was in the emergency room just that morning with a kidney stone. At the time I was talking to him he had still not passed it, but was all hyped up on pain medication and almost didn’t even go to the game. I’m sure he was glad he decided to go.

Chase, I hope you’re “passed” the worst of it now. If you’re interested, you can read the article that Alan Schuster wrote about this event here.

See, I told you it was a great evening. What else could you want?

Oh yeah, there was a game on the field. It was a good game, a close game throughout the whole thing. Other than the fact it sounded like there were more Cubs fans than Rangers fans, and also that the Rangers ended up losing, it was a very exciting game. The Rangers hit two home runs (one by Nelson Cruz and one by Vladimir Guerrero). The game was tied 3-3 after the 4th and stayed that way into the 10th. The Cubs then began to pinch hit three straight left handed batters against Darren O’Day who gave up two runs. The Rangers got one back in the bottom of the inning but that’s all they could muster.

Rangers lose 5-4. Dirk and I’s record at the ballpark this year fell to 8-1.

The Rangers lost and Sarah wasn’t with me, but today was still a very memorable day at the ballpark for me.

Here’s a couple looks at the two balls I snagged today….

5_22_09 013.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5_22_09 014.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Time of game: 3hrs. 8mins.

Attendance: 46,180 (yuck!!)

Next game: Fri. 6/4 vs. Tampa Bay 

5 comments

  1. txfilmmkr

    Taco Bell! That’s what I hate about Minute Maid Park, you can’t even bring in a bottle of water. They literally have the strictest food and beverage policy in the majors. I once had to scarf down a Cliff bar because the security screener saw it in my backpack and told me to either eat it now or toss it in the trash.

    I’m telling you what, Rangers Ballpark is sooo much better than MMP on so many levels. Open food/drink policy, gates open two hours before game time plus a 30 minute head start for season ticket holders, it’s easier to move between left and right field, and on top of all that, ball retrieval devices are not only allowed, but encouraged.

    However, MMP is in a better location, has way better parking (I can park a block from the stadium for $1.50), is a nicer stadium overall, and best of all has a retractable roof with AIR CONDITIONING!!!! If we could just combine the best aspects of both stadiums, I think we could come up with the perfect ballpark.

    Donny in Houston

  2. Txbaseballfan

    Yeah, the $.99 chicken burritos have become a big player for us. I’ve heard about food Nazis down there, that sucks.

    I’m in agreement with your assessment of both stadiums, though the one game I went to last year at MMP the roof was closed and it actually made the field look smaller to me. Although I do like all the cool stuff they have to look at under the train, as well as the bar/restaurant out in center.

    And I agree with the parking situation too, though we found a bank parking lot to the northwest of the ballpark that’s about a 10 minute walk and is only $5. If we have our girls with us we pony up for the $12 lot, but most times it’s the $5 spot. We parked down the street from the first base gate last year about 3-4 blocks and it wasn’t bad.

    There’s pluses and minuses to both, but since I’m closer to this one I’ll have to place my vote on Arlington.

  3. txfilmmkr

    Funny you mention it. I think I probably park in the same bank parking lot when I got to RBiA. If it’s the one that’s just beyond lot H, then that’s the same one I use. Only I enter it from the I30/Copeland Road side because there’s not an attendant taking money. They only take money from the Six Flags Rd. side.

    Donny

  4. Txbaseballfan

    That sounds like the same one, how weird is that? We’ve never tried coming in from the other side. The last time we parked there, the guy taking the money told us they were going to start cracking down on towing the vehicles that didn’t pay to park. We usually take my buddy’s company car, and I don’t think he would risk it over $5.

    If you ever get up here for a Friday game: $10 tickets and $5 parking (in the good lots), but it’s usually a pretty decent crowd though.

    When you coming up this year?

  5. cookandsonbats

    Cool game, Brian. Lots of good stuff. Very cool that you chatted with the guy about seeing Ruth and Gehrig. Also, doesn’t it seem like when you’re totally alone in a section absolutely no one can find the seats? As for the guy putting his glove in Dirk’s glove, I had that happen at my last game at old Yankee Stadium. Worse yet, it was KEN GRIFFEY JR. who hit the ball! Finally, nice job on the “hit ball. We just got out first hit ball of the season — all the rest have been thrown.
    -Todd
    http://cookandsonbats.mlblogs.com

Leave a comment